The Liberated Voice – Sound Poetry

The Liberated Voice - Sound Poetry

22 March - 12 May 2019
Room 37, vestibule and 3 cupolas
Opening night on 21 March on World Poetry Day

In the 20th century, phonetic and then sound poetry always stood as an act of emancipation. Sometimes ready to abandon semantics, the avant-garde turned it into a spearhead of a struggle against systems, beliefs and dogmas. What is now left of their heroic combats? Myths and legends. But times have changed. Combats too. Utopias no longer have the same look. New technologies have now invaded the space of language, for the better or the worst. For the worst, by imposing a digital rationalisation of words and sounds. For the best, by providing
language with an infinity of sources and tools. Since the 1950s, technological progress has allowed phonetic poetry to become sound poetry.
The exhibition The Liberated Voice – Sound Poetry curated by Eric Mangion and Patrizio Peterlini in co-production with Bonotto Fondation offers, without any nostalgia, a journey with from voices of the past to the present. It plunges us directly and deeply into these artists who still use words and sounds as an exercise in freedom. Poetry continues to place mankind at the heart of life and art. How to remain human when the world is becoming increasingly multiple? How to affirm your singularity? As the result of research lasting over a year, the exhibition has been conceived as a nonexhaustive journey through sound poetry, from the end of the Second World War until contemporary developments. Intentionally trans-historical and international, representing over
thirty countries covering all five continents, this project has been conceived as a place to be listened in, a transmitter creating a frequency that passes outside the walls of Palais de Tokyo thanks to an application providing an open, free-of-charge download of the exhibition’s sound programme, as well as a multitude of sites, radio stations or reviews which will extend this experience of sound poetry during the entire spring of 2019.»

During spring 2019, a series of sites, radio stations and reviews will thus be presenting sound
poetry events or publications: la Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard, la Maison de la poésie, France Culture, *DUUU Radio, Vizir Radio, Les écritures bougées, RadioO et Revue OR (Paris/France), T.A.P.I.N. (Lyon), Maison de la poésie (Nantes / France) Babel Heureuse (Toulouse/France), Montévidéo et Radio Grenouille (Marseille/France), la Villa Arson (Nice/France), Beton7Art Radio et Metadeftero Radio (Athènes/Grèce), RAI RadioTre Suite, RAI RadioUno Music Club, RAM Radio Arte Mobile et NOW Radio, Auditorium Roma, (Rome/Italie), ArtPartofCulture (Bologne/Italie),, Nero Magazine, Insideart (Italie), RUC Radio Universidade (Coimbra/Portugal) + LabSynthE, Laboratory for Synthetic and Experimental Poetry, University of Texas (Dallas/ USA), CMMAS (Guanajuato/Mexique), Power FM (Zambie), MEC FM (Brésil), Wonderlust Project, LapTopRadio, Radio Tramontana (Suisse), radioCona (Slovénie), Radio Picnic (Belgique), KunstRadio – Radio Österreich1 (Autriche), Whitechapel (Londres /Grande-Bretagne), Fargfabriken (Stockholm / Suède).

With sound pieces by:

Tomomi Adachi, Arcand Pierre André, Atlanta Poets Group, Martin Bakero, Gary Barwin, Caroline Bergvall, Julien Blaine, Jaap Blonk, Luis Bravo, Anne-James Chaton, Henri Chopin, Carlfiredrich Claus, Bob Cobbing, Felipe Cussen, Augusto De Campos, Paul De Vree, François Dufrêne, Eduard Escoffet, Robert Filliou, Giovanni Fontana, The Four Horsemen, Steven J. Fowler, Jérôme Game, Ilse Garnier, Pierre Garnier, John Giorno, Klaus Groh, Brion Gysin, Sten Hanson, Ian Hatcher, Bernard Heidsieck, Dick Higgins, Ake Hodell, Zuzana Husárová, Isidore Isou, Juan Angel Italiano, Ernst Jandl, Maja Jantar, Bengt Emil Johnson, Eugenji Kharitonov, Ferdinand Kriwet, Nobuo Kubota, Katalin Ladik, Anne Le Troter, Franck Leibovici, Weronika M. Lewandowska, Violaine Lochu, Arrigo Lora Totino, Ghérasim Luca, Jackson MacLow, Kgafela oa Magogodi, Michèle Métail, Enzo Minarelli, Franz Mon, Maurizio Nannucci, Seiichi Niikuni, Ladislav Novak, Clemente Padin, Arthur Peteronio, Anat Pick, Decio Pignatari, Jörg Piringer, Mimmo Rotella, Gerhard Rühm, Rike Scheffler, Carolee Schneemann, Adriano Spatola, Amanda Stewart, Demetrio Stratos, Kinga Toth, Jaromir Typlt, Louise Vanardois, Emmett Williams, Gil J Wolman, Misako Yarita.



By posting a comment, you agree to's privacy policy.